Correspondent – Delhi Bureau

[email protected]

New Delhi 12th December 2014

Regularising the movement of e-rickshaws in the national capital, Delhi government on Thursday banned their plying and parking on 236 thoroughfares. The government issued a notification in this regard after getting a go-ahead from the Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung.


In New Delhi, 77 roads have been put under restriction for plying of the battery-operated vehicles. These include Barakhamba Road, Tilak Marg, Rajpath, Ashoka Road, Tughlak Road, Shahjahan Road, Rafi Marg, Feroz Shah Road, Sansad Marg from T-Point Imtiaz Khan Marg to Outer Connaught Circus, Aurangzeb Road and others.

According to the notification, e-rickshaws cannot ply on 19 roads and locations in Central Delhi – Netaji Subhash Marg, Jawahar Lal Nehru Marg, Military Road, Bye Pass Ring Road, IP Marg & Vikas Marg among others.

Apart from Central Delhi, 38 roads have been identified for the prohibition of such vehicles in south Delhi which include Lala Lajpat Rai Marg, Aurobindo Marg, Lodhi Road, RTR, Nelson Mandela Marg, Siri Fort Road, NH-8, Aruna Asaf Ali Road while 23 roads, which fall in south-east district, are Ring Road, Capt. Gaur Marg, Mathura Road and others.

The Central government had recently notified the Central Motor Vehicles (Sixteenth Amendment) Rules, 2014, which paves way for plying of “special purpose battery operated vehicles”. The new rules provide that e-rickshaws will be allowed to carry four passengers and 40 kg luggage while e-carts would transport goods up to 310 kg.

Other roads where the ban on battery-operated vehicles’s operations have been imposed include 12 roads in North Delhi, 15 roads in North-West district, 11 roads in North-East Delhi, 9 roads in East Delhi, 21 roads in South-West Delhi and 9 roads in West Delhi


About DN News Network

DN News Network

THE TRUTH UNFURLED बेनकाब होगा अब हर सच  To know the Truth, Keep watching The DN News

You may also like...


Humidity: 77
Wind: 0 km/h
22 °C
19 36
24 Mar 2016
23 38
25 Mar 2016